Tags

, ,

I’ve never been one to get upset over the death of strangers, in fact I’ve even ridiculed people who suddenly burst into tears because a mediocre actor died. But this was David FUCKING Bowie and I am not ashamed to say that it brought tears to my eyes to read that he was gone.  Here am I sitting in my tin can. . . .

If you’ve ever read one of my books, you know how important Bowie is to the stories I’ve written, and the stories I will write in the future. Bowie didn’t just make music, Bowie was the voice of the universe, the soundtrack maker of the stars, leading us like an ancient God toward the light. Planet Earth is blue and there’s nothing I can do.

I’ve never read a book about Bowie, I know absolutely nothing about the life he led. I didn’t need to. It didn’t matter who David Robert Jones was, anymore than it matters who Richard David Evans is. All that matters is who you become, who you create, the person that speaks to the world. All that matters is the art, the persona, the voice that cries out against the injustice in the world. Often people will cite a famous celebrity as their reason for coming out, but Bowie has inspired me to do the exact opposite. It doesn’t matter what my sexuality REALLY is, it doesn’t matter what you believe about it, because it doesn’t matter to ME what label I wear. It is all just character performance, its all art and it means everything and nothing at all. Back in the 90’s when people would hear me playing Bowie they would ask “Isn’t he gay?” and every time I would answer “Who the hell cares?” You have to live your life the way you want, David Bowie created an avatar for himself that lived and breathed in the world like the rest of us, but was, like all Gods, always slightly above. Ziggy was as real as the real David, as was Jareth, all of them were the same man and we never questioned it because it was fucking REAL and we accepted that. Raven Heisenberg would not even exist if this man had not given me the courage to wear a different skin. He was the Nazz, with god-given ass.

You did it, kid. You changed the world and all of time and space will remember it.

