Tags

, , , ,

As Boing Boing’s Cory Doctorow put it in a blog post yesterday:

This fine print will always have a clause that says you are a mere tenant farmer of your books, and not their owner, and your right to carry around your “purchases” (which are really conditional licenses, despite misleading buttons labeled with words like “Buy this with one click” — I suppose “Conditionally license this with one click” is deemed too cumbersome for a button) can be revoked without notice or explanation (or, notably, refund) at any time.

Now I love Amazon, but they are wrong here. See, they don’t own the books either. I DO. My readers are using THEIR service to get my work, but we can do this the old fashioned way if we have to; using paper and print. SO, rather than get bogged down with these concerns and getting riled up about a policy I don’t agree with, I’ve instead decided to offer my readers this assurance:

If for any reason you cannot access my books on your Kindle, or even if you lose your computer because you threw it in the ocean, I will replace my books for customers for free. I will send you a new pdf copy of whatever book you lost, had deleted, or threw into the sea.

Yes, I realize people will lie. I am not famous enough that people want to steal from me and frankly, I don’t care if they do. If they want my book bad enough to fabricate a story and send me an e-mail, I think that’s wonderful.

