I started working on a science fiction novel for a comic publisher, on spec, with no agreement in place but merely to show them I can write and that I want to work with them on the franchise. They’ve made a pretty good offer and for the first time in my life the quality of my work will determine the future of the project.

However even THAT project has been pushed back so that I can submit for this anthology:

http://www.clivebarker.info/newsmidian.html

MIDIAN UNMADE: TALES OF CLIVE BARKER’S NIGHTBREED picks up where CABAL left off, chronicling the lives of the ‘Breed as they disperse into the world after the fall of Midian. We’re looking for stories of struggle and despair, of hope and sanctification, as the former inhabitants of Midian try to adapt to the world from which they retreated years before. A world that does not want them. A world that will hound them, hunt them, simply for the crime of being different.

Writers have Clive’s permission to use the existing members of the Breed that appear in the novella Cabal, in the film Nightbreed, and in the companion volume, The Nightbreed Chronicles, published by Titan Books. Writers also have the option of creating their own unique and fantastical creatures that fit the Nightbreed mold.

This book was a huge influence on me and it would be a benchmark moment of my career if I get accepted. The story is already more than halfway done and I have lots of time left but I don’t want to get sidelined by anything else until after I submit this to them.

Wish me luck!

Peloquin, one of the Nightbreed.

