Tags

, , , , , ,

I put this book on hiatus last year, it was going to be my first novel, but I sort of hit a roadblock and decided to wait and then Earth Man came along. . . .

Romance novels may have any tone or style, be set in any place or time, and have varying levels of sensuality—ranging from sweet to extremely hot. These settings and distinctions of plot create specific subgenres within romance fiction.

In romance fiction the story is driven by the characters. That means sometimes having to choose how a character feels, over what a character sees, when it comes to describing a scene or situation. Unlike the more traditional romance novels, this isn’t told from a woman’s perspective; both characters are gay men.  It also isn’t written in first person, because I frankly hate first person narratives. Doesn’t mean I won’t ever write one, I’ve read a few that really worked, but as a general rule I avoid first person.

The second part, the happy ending, well of course there is going to be a happy ending. I don’t believe in making characters and the readers drag themselves through mud, blood and violence just to end up unfulfilled. Happy endings are what people remember. A happy ending is the difference between rolling over, satisfied and content, or throwing the book down in frustration and bad-mouthing it online.

Is a gay superhero romance the most marketable book I could write? Hell no. But that’s exactly why I do what I do; to do what no one else will do.

punch

