To promote EARTH MAN, my first science fiction novel, I’ll be posting a new woman of science fiction every day for the next nine days. EARTH MAN will be released April 1st.

#9 Princess Leia

9

Personally, I never got the whole “slave Leia” obsession. I mean sure Carrie Fisher is a beautiful woman, but as a young boy this was not part of my fantasies.

In fact, I am just going to come out and say it now, I find the entire Star Wars universe lacks any sexuality. That’s part of the charm of it, the timeless, childlike quality of it. It was the relationship between Padme and Anakin that really spoiled the new trilogy for viewers. Star Wars isn’t supposed to be sexy, the fans make it sexy. This is part of the reason why I have no more interest in any more SW films. But I don’t want to go off on a tangent here, let me just say that Star Wars is rather sexless and the slave Leia scene is probably one of the only titillating scenes in all six movies.

What makes the Slave Leia scene a classic is not the costume, which is pretty tame, but the character development that comes from it. In the first two films Leia was a bossy, gung-ho, stuck-up snob who showed no fear; a perfect, beautiful terrorist. Suddenly seeing her dominated and in chains, forced to be submissive to an ugly criminal blob, stripped her of that power and purity. Defiled and debased, the warrior within her comes to the surface, showing us all that beneath the icy princess was a stone cold warrior. I mean we already knew that, but this was the Return of the Jedi and Leia proved herself to be every bit as dangerous as her brother, Luke.

“We have powerful friends. You’re going to regret this.”

EM1

